SOME THOUGHTS ABOUT TEACHING

It’s been a long time that I haven’t written. I was too busy working and worrying about how my students are progressing or not.

I also had some time to think about my own way of teaching and TEACHING in general. I came to the conclusion that was is important in teaching is WHAT YOU ARE and WHAT YOU GIVE to your students. You ask for motivation, investment and excitement so BE MOTIVATED, INVESTED AND EXCITED with your students. This is my goal now: I do not want to force myself into being someone that I am not. I want to be myself and share this with my students who are able to receive this. I’ve also noticed that positive affirmation was really useful. Indeed, I made a link between motivation/positivity and how efficient and invested my students are. When I am tired, stressed out, less motivated, I think that my classes are able to feel that. Therefore, the hour is less pleasant for everyone because I’m not into it. Though, I use much energy to be motivated, energetic and positive with each of my class. Trying to support each student, try to make them work (even just a little bit for some….) and think and progress and learn. LEARNING,  GROWING is what matters.

Though, I use much energy to be motivated, energetic and positive with each of my class. Trying to support each student, try to make them work (even just a little bit for some….) and think and progress and learn. This is tiring… LEARNING, GROWING is what matters.

LEARNING, GROWING is what matters.

I don’t understand why teachers need to follow rules if you want to be a « good » teacher and keep being one. Why do I need to plan every single thing? Why do we need to write this whole plan with each objective, each detail for each hour? Why can’t we do some grammar? Grammar is not funny uh but THEY need grammar. Have you ever noticed that NOW teenagers do not really know their English grammar? Have you ever wondered why? Maybe because we don’t teach grammar.

In other words, why do we need to follow certain rules when the only thing we want is that our students progress, learn and enjoy being in your class.

I want to give everything to my students, I want them to trust themselves and I want them to succeed. To do so, I  need to trust myself FIRST and I need to relax a little. I know my classes are funnier when I am not that stressed out.

As a conclusion, I would like to say that I really like my students even if sometimes it’s complicated or even if sometimes they just don’t want to work. I can feel that our relationship is getting more intimate, we make jokes together, we laugh together, they make me laugh and I believe in them, I really do. I am so happy when I see a smile on their face and I am so proud when I see their progress.

Teaching is not easy, it takes times, it takes patience and it takes practice.

Une réflexion sur “SOME THOUGHTS ABOUT TEACHING

  1. Pingback: Thoughts about teaching :) | The Colour of Poetry

Laisser un commentaire

